Affine Varieties: Embeddings, Automorphisms, Structure and Topology (AV-EAST-2021)

Dedicated to 70th anniversary of Shulim Kaliman

July 26-30, 2021, The Euler Mathematical Institute, St.Petersburg, Russia

The conference was rescheduled due to the situation with COVID-19.

Register Contact us

Registration deadline is April 29, 2021 if you need a visa support and May 31, 2021 otherwise.




July 26-30, 2021.


The Euler International Mathematical Institute, Saint-Petersburg, Russia. See contacts.

Program committee

Ivan Arzhantsev (Moscow), Gene Freudenburg (Western Michigan), Frank Kutzschebauch (Bern)

Organizing committee

Alisa Chistopolskaya, Sergey Gaifullin, Alexander Perepechko, Anton Shafarevich, Yulia Zaitseva

Conference poster

You may download a lower quality version of the conference poster or request a high-quality one by e-mail.

About conference

Affine algebraic geometry studies algebraic subvarieties of complex affine space $\mathbb{C}^n$. It emerged as an independent subject at the appearance of three celebrated results in the decade of the 1970s: the topological characterization of the affine plane given by Ramanujam (1971), the Abhyankar-Moh Suzuki Theorem (1975), and the Cancelation Theorem of Fujita, Miyanishi and Sugie (1979).

A major contributor to this field in the following generation is Shulim Kaliman, whose work this conference is intended to honor on the occasion of his 70th birthday. Among his many achievements, several of Kaliman's results are now fundamental to our understanding of $\mathbb{C}^3$: He showed that polynomials with general $\mathbb{C}^2$-fibers are variables (2002), that every free $(\mathbb{C},+)$ action on $\mathbb{C}^3$ is a translation (2004), and he contributed to the solution of the linearization problem for $(\mathbb{C},\times)$ actions on $\mathbb{C}^3$ (1997). Along with algebraic geometry, Kaliman made a significant contribution to the theory of several complex variables and to the symplectic geometry (“Kaliman modification”); he has created a lot of synergies between these areas of mathematics.

The conference will feature 10-12 prominent plenary speakers from among Kaliman's research colleagues, such as Mikhail Zaidenberg, with additional talks that include younger researchers. Kaliman's work draws from an impressive range of tools, not only in algebra and geometry but also in topology and analysis. The title of the conference reflects this: the embeddings, automorphisms, structure and topology of affine varieties are themes running throughout Kaliman's work. The talks will focus on current trends within these themes, and will not only bring together active researchers in the field but will also seek to engage students and early career researchers in the study of affine algebraic geometry.

Main Speakers

  • Yuri Berest (Cornell University)
  • Daniel Daigle (University of Ottawa)
  • Adrien Dubouloz (University of Burgundy)
  • Hubert Flenner (Ruhr-University Bochum) - TBC
  • Franc Forstnerič (University of Ljubljana) - TBC
  • Leonid Makar-Limanov (Wayne State University)
  • Masayoshi Miyanishi (Kwansei Gakuin University)
  • Lucy Moser-Jauslin (University of Burgundy)
  • Karol Palka (Polish Academy of Sciences; Institute of Mathematics)
  • Vladimir Popov (Russian Academy of Sciences)
  • Peter Russell (McGill University)
  • Immanuel van Santen (University of Basel)
  • Mikhail Zaidenberg (Institut Fourier) - TBC


  • Rafael Andrist (American University of Beirut)
  • Ivan Arzhantsev (Higher School of Economics)
  • Yuri Berest (Cornell University)
  • Alisa Chistopolskaya (Higher School of Economics)
  • Michael Chitayat (University of Ottawa)
  • Daniel Daigle (University of Ottawa)
  • Nikhilesh Dasgupta (Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies)
  • Adrien Dubouloz (University of Burgundy)
  • Evgeny Feigin (Higher School of Economics; Skoltech)
  • Gene Freudenburg (Western Michigan University)
  • Sergey Gaifullin (Moscow State University; Higher School of Economics)
  • Marat Gizatullin
  • Frank Kutzschebauch (University of Bern)
  • Karine Kuyumzhiyan (Higher School of Economics)
  • Leonid Makar-Limanov (Wayne State University)
  • Kayo Masuda (Kwansei Gakuin University)
  • Masayoshi Miyanishi (Kwansei Gakuin University)
  • Lucy Moser-Jauslin (University of Burgundy)
  • Karol Palka (Polish Academy of Sciences; Institute of Mathematics)
  • Tomasz Pełka (University of Bern)
  • Alexander Perepechko (Kharkevich Institute; Moscow Institute for Physics and Technology)
  • Vladimir Popov (Russian Academy of Sciences)
  • Andriy Regeta (University of Jena)
  • Peter Russell (McGill University)
  • Sourav Sen (Harish-Chandra Research Institute)
  • Anton Shafarevich (Moscow State University; Higher School of Economics)
  • Tuyen Truong (University of Oslo)
  • Immanuel van Santen (University of Basel)
  • Yulia Zaitseva (Higher School of Economics)


Please use the registration form or contact us by e-mail for any questions.

Registration deadlines:

  • April 29, 2021 if you need a visa support (see detailed visa information at,
  • May 31, 2021 otherwise.

Financial support

If you expect organizers to cover your expenses, please do not buy the tickets yourself. Otherwise, we won't be able to reimburse them. Please contact us by e-mail for any questions.


The conference will take place at EIMI.

The main accommodation is the Andersen Hotel, 4A Chapygina street.