Integrable Models in Statistical Mechanics, Limit Shapes and Combinatorics

School: 31 July-4 August 2017

Conference: 7-11 August 2017

Euler International Mathematical Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia


Scientific goals and directions

In the last two decades, a remarkable development took place at the interface of combinatorics, probability theory and statistical mechanics. It resulted in a new development in several well-established topics. In particular, probabilistic aspects of solvable models in statistical mechanics such as the structure of Gibbs measure in the thermodynamical limit and the structure of large deviations are much better understood now.

The following topics, will lie at the core of the Summer School and the Conference:

--The structure Gibbs measures in the thermodynamic limit and the limit shape phenomenon;
--Enumerative combinatorics and integrability;
--Discrete geometry, discrete holomorphycity and conformal invariance in statistical mechanics,
--Mathematically rigorous foundation of the Kardar-Parisi-Zhang scaling and the theory of random matrices;
--Connection between integrable systems, statistical mechanics, the geometry of moduli spaces and representation theory.

The goal is to bring together the renowned experts in these areas to exchange ideas and recent results and to get young people involved in modern research.

Lecturers at the school (5 lectures, 4 hours lectures each):

  • Ivan Corwin (Columbia University, USA)
  • Philippe Di Francesco (University of Illinois, USA)
  • Nicolai Reshetikhin (UC Berkeley, USA; University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Semen Shlosman (Centre de Physique Theorique, Universite Marsellie, CNRS, France)
  • Fedor Smirnov (Sorbonne Universite, UPMC Univ Paris 06, CNRS, France)

  • School

    Financial support

    The school and research conference are organised by EIMI and supported by the Simons Foundation .

    The organizers will be able to cover travel expenses and to provide accommodation for a limited number of participants, both of the Summer School and the Conference.

    Scientific Committee: Andrei Okounkov, Nicolai Reshetikhin, Stanislav Smirnov,
    Organizing committee: Andrei Pronko, Nicolai Reshetikhin, Peter Zograf.
    Local coordinators: Nadia Zaleskaya, Tatiana Vinogradova, Natalia Kirshner